Search CASTCollege of Applied Science & Technology |
Horticulture Center
 

 

Annual Events

The Horticulture Center strives to establish and increase its programming for students, the Illinois State University community and residents of McLean County as it grows. The following is a schedule of the Center's activities.

Spring

Saturday, March 3              8-3:30 pm Home, Lawn & Garden Day

                                           Central Catholic High School, Bloomington            

Saturday, April 7                 9-4 pm Illinois Sustainable Living & Wellness Expo

                                           Shirk Center at IWU, Bloomington

Thursday, April 19                   6-8pm Make & Take

                                                        Grow your own Microgreens! Registration required.

                                                        Ropp 107F

Sunday, April 22                      noon - 4  Pawty for the Planet - Earth Day Celebration

                                                         ISU Horticulture Center

Thursday, April 26, 2018       11:30-2 pm NutriFest

                                            Circus Room, Bone Student Center 

Friday, April 27                    Arbor Day

                                            The Horticulture Center recognizes Arbor Day by                                                               celebrating  all  the trees that have been sponsored. 

Saturday, April 28               9-4:00 pm Alumni Student Service Day

                                           ISU Horticulture Center, Normal 

Thursday, May 3                  5:00 Horticulture End of Year Celebration for Students                                            ISU Horticulture Center                                       

 

Summer

 

Saturday, June 23                  9-10:30 am Children’s Garden Party, OPEN to the PUBLIC

                                                       ISU Horticulture Center, Normal

Thursday, June 28                  ISU Night at the Cornbelters

Wednesday, July 4                Fourth at the Hort

A private Independence Celebration for Friends of the Horticulture Center, volunteers and staff.

Thursday, August 9            Pollinator Event

                                                         Horticulture Center, Normal

     

 

Fall

Friday, August 24                  4:00–6:00 pm Botanical Garden Open House

                                                            ISU Horticulture Center

Saturday, September 15        10–3:00 pm Autumnal Festival

                                              ISU Horticulture Center, Normal

 Thursday, September 28         6-8:00 pm Make and Take – Pumpkin Arrangement

                                              Create an autumnal masterpiece for your home.

Thursday, October 4              6-8 pm Thor Hanson presents the Thriumph of Seeds 

Saturday, October 13             10:00 Homecoming Parade

                                              11:00 Tailgate at CAST tent

 

Wednesday, November 14&15     6:00-8:00 pm Make and Take – Holiday              Wreath/Basket Arrangement